HLWW School District 2687 Board Minutes

February 20, 2007
HLWW High School Media Center

The February 20, 2007 Regular School Board Meeting of the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted ISD #2687 was called to order at 7:02pm by Chairman Schaible. After the Pledge of Allegiance, roll was taken with members present: Hammer, Weber, Doering, Wiech, Weibel, and Schaible; absent: Custer. Also present were Superintendent George Ladd, Principals Mike Day, Brad Sellner, and Jennifer Olson; Buildings and Grounds Supervisor Steve Strandquist; and Board Secretary Marilyn Greeley.

(Item IV) Rick Mathson, from Ebert Construction, gave a brief update on the elementary construction. Schaible read the update from Hasslen Construction on the high school construction.

(Item V) Schaible recommended the following changes and additions: updated spring coaching staff; remove item F and bring back next month; add item L-Bus routing contract; item M-levy; item N-committee assignments

Weber motioned to approve the agenda with the changes and additions; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item VI) There were no questions or comments from visitors.

(Item VII) Hammer read the following recognitions:

The School Board recognizes Paul Fobbe and Jim Weninger, volunteers and staff, for all their extra time and work on extra activities that they put on for the student body year after year. We appreciate your dedication to the betterment of the students here at District 2687. Thank you all very much.

The School Board recognizes Jill Decker and Clark Ostvig on being selected Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted’s triple A award winners for 2006-2007. Clark was also named the sub-section #20 male triple A award winner. He advanced to the section V competition along with the three other bus-section winners. Congratulations Jill and Clark.

The School Board recognizes the One Act Play and Director Belinda Larsen. They finished 2nd in sub-regions. Congratulations to everyone!

The School Board recognizes the following middle school students of the month: Adam Harwood, Ryan Klima, Bridget Leukuma, Kelli Lachermeier, Rachell Bayerl, John Brandenburg, and Brandon Rehmann. The theme was “self-discipline.” Congratulations to everyone!

The School Board recognizes this years snow-fest royalty: King – Massimo Pigola, Queen – Katie Greenhagen, Prince – Robert Westman, Princess – Amber Nelson. Congratulations to all of you and best of luck in the future.

The school board would like to recognize Jessica Glessing and Josh Forcier for being named Students of the 2nd Quarter – 2007 at Wright Technical Center. Jessica was awarded this in the Child Care course and Josh for Construction. Congratulations and keep up the hard work!

Weibel motioned to approve the recognitions with the addition; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item VIII) There was no student council report.

(Item IX) Strandquist gave a brief reported.

(Item X) Wiech motioned to approve the consent agenda; Weber seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. A) Karen Ready, Kindergarten teacher; gave a brief presentation on the extended day kindergarten program.

(Item XI; Subd. B) Weber motioned to approve the treasurer’s report; Hammer seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. C) Weber motioned to approve the fund 6 expenses; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. D) Weibel motioned to approve the spring coaching staff with the change; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. E) Hammer motioned to approve draft 5 as the 2007-2008 school calendar; Weber seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. F) Removed from the agenda; to be brought back next month.

(Item XI; Subd. G) Weber motioned to approve leasing up to three buses with more information coming from the consultant; Wiech seconded; Doering asked if we need to purchase a van this year; Ladd said no; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. H) Weber motioned to approve the retirements of elementary teacher Borrell, and family ed coordinator Youndahl; and medical leave for elementary teacher McCarty; Hammer seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. I) Wiech reviewed the first reading of policies 420-Student/Employees with infections & Diseases; 501-School Weapons Policy; 515-Protection & Privacy of Pupil Records; 524-Internet acceptable use & safety policy; 201-Legal Status of the School Board; and 202-School Board Officers.

(Item XI; Subd. J) Doering motioned to approve policies 425-Staff Development; 530-Immunization Requirements; 601-School District Curriculum & Instruction Goals; 606-Textbooks & Instructional Materials; 607-Organization of Grade Levels; Weber seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. K) Hammer motioned to lifting the requirement for the high school word processing requirement; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. L) Hammer motioned to approve the contract with Mr. Corliss; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XI; Subd. M) Schaible reported the consensus of the board was to have a November Operating Levy Election and bring more information and a time line to the next meeting.

(Item XI; Subd. N) Doering motioned to approve the board committee assignments; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

(Item XII; Subd. A) Principal Sellner gave a brief reported.

Principal Day gave a brief reported.

Principal Olson gave a brief reported.

(Item XII; Subd. B) Each board member gave a brief update on their committees.

(Item XII; Subd. C) Superintendent Ladd gave a brief reported.

(Item XIII) Next meeting dates

Work Session Meeting –not needed at this time

Regular Board Meeting – Monday March 19, 2007 7pm HS Media Center

(Item XIV) Items for regular board meeting

• Approve Sewer/Water bid

• Approve Lawn mowing bid

• Possible handbook changes

• Resolutions discontinuing and/or reducing programs & positions

• First reading of policies

• Second reading of policies

• Leave/Resignations

• Employment Recommendation

• Levy timeline

• Calendar proposals

• City development contract

• Negotiations committee recommendation

• Recognitions

Doering motioned to adjourn at 9:23 pm.; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Charles Weber, clerk

Published in the Herald Journal April 9, 2007.