HLWW School District 2687 Board Minutes

Monday, March 14, 2011
HLWW Board Room
The March 14, 2011 Regular School Board meeting of the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted ISD #2687 was called to order at 6:08pm. by Chairman Schaible. After the pledge of allegiance, roll was taken with the following members present: Schaible, Heuer, Tintes, Kocher, Weber, and Weibel; absent: Wiech. Also present were Principals Mike Day, and Jim Schimelpfenig; Superintendent Brad Sellner, SMS Financial Consultant Bill Menozzi, and Board Secretary Marilyn Greeley.
(Item IV) Chairman Schaible reported Principal Olson has additional information for her principal report; and there is a book that was donated by local businesses. Weibel motioned to approve the agenda with the additions, Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item V) There were no questions or comments from visitors.
(Item VI) Tintes reported an additional recognition: HLWW 9th Grade traveling boys basketball league won the state championship. Congratulations to the team.
Heuer motioned to approve the consent agenda which included the February 14, 2011 regular board minutes, February 28, 2011 Work session minutes, March bills, enrollment, resignation of Denise Flemming, Special Ed Secretary, as of March 18, 2011, and Janet Perry to be assuming those additional duties effective March 21, 2011 as part of her special education duties, elementary laker news, the following recognitions and the additional recognition from Tintes:
The School Board recognizes HLWW Wrestlers Matt Marketon, Chris Cox, and the coaching staff, who advanced to the State tournament this past week. Matt Marketon finished with a third place victory at the state meet. Congratulations to Matt and Chris and the coaching staff on a great season.
The School Board recognizes the following students of the month who were chosen for the month of February by the teachers and staff of HLWW Middle School: Haley Wiegert, Maisie Johnson, Morgan Frank, Naomi Hinojos, and Luke Theisen. They also received a certificate and have their pictures displayed on the Middle School bulletin board.
The School Board recognizes the following coaches who were selected as HLWW’s CMC “Coach of the Year” nominees: Wade Moravec, Chad Burau, Dan Herda, and Chad Gagnon. Congratulations on your nomination.
The School Board recognizes Allina Buffalo Hospital for donating three CPR adult mannequins. Thank you for your donation to the district.
The School Board recognizes Winsted Gentle Dental Care for opening their doors to Winsted Kindergarten and 2nd grade classrooms. They contacted the school in an effort to promote Dental Health month and share a “real life” learning experience for our students. Thank you to the staff for reaching out and providing a community connection for our students!
The School Board recognizes “The Ruth Circle” at St. John’s Lutheran Church in Howard Lake for their support of the Humphrey Music Program. Their extra hands as well as financial support helped defray the costs of the musical. Your generosity and support to our students is greatly appreciated.
The School Board recognizes the Elementary Students of the Month for February. These Winsted and Humphrey Elementary students are being recognized for displaying characteristics of Courage-- Charlie Mielke, Jakob Duske, Maci Schwarz, Mallory Hass, Audri Sturgeon, Gracen Wagner, Dane Burger, Zemirah Reimer, Collyn Catlin, Blaine Olsen, Candace Krumwiede, Caleb Karg, Cristal Lopez, Hunter Decker, Rachel Jetson, Nevaeh Adams, Kealy Karels, Cindy Laxen, Emma Matheson, Kim Rolfzen, Joseph Schanus and Trevin Olund. Congratulations and thank you for being a positive role model in school. We are proud of you!
The School Board recognizes the numerous volunteers and special guests who read to students at the elementary buildings during the month of February. Thank you for taking time from your day to promote the importance of reading, as well as reinforcing the importance of being involved in a child’s education. We appreciate your partnership and support!
Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
Bill Menozzi, SMS Financial Consultant, requested to switch item A and C around. The board members agreed.
(Item VII, Subd. C) Heuer motioned to approve the preliminary 2011-2012 budget; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. B) Heuer motioned to approve the fund balance policy with a minimum of eight percent and a maximum of 20 percent; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. C) Tintes motioned to approve the treasurer’s report; Heuer seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. F) Curriculum Director, Jim Schimelpfenig, reviewed the MAP’s testing information.
(Item VII, Subd. D) Jim Weninger, FFA Advisor/AG Instructor thanked the school board for the approval of the half time Ag position. Seena Glessing, half time Ag Instructor, and Rebecca Groos, Sabrina Kieser, Emily Mages, and Rebecca Zander gave a presentation on the Farm to School Program.
Heuer motioned that the district pays for the irrigation for the garden; Tintes seconded; the board discussed a price point for the irrigation. Heuer amended the motion to approve the irrigation not to exceed $1,800; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. E) Heuer motioned to approve the feasibility report for the City of Howard Lake parking lot and playground improvements; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. G) Tintes motioned to approve the 2011-2012 handbook changes; Weber seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. H) Tintes motioned to approve using four portable classrooms at Winsted Elementary; Kocher seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. I) The consensus of the board was to move forward with combining polling locations and moving the polling site to the high school.
(Item VII, Subd. J) Superintendent Sellner reviewed the information about MAWSECO leasing space at the middle school. The board discussed space options at the middle school.
(Item VIII, Subd. A) Principal Day gave a brief report.
Principal Schimelpfenig gave a brief report.
Principal Olson’s report was written.
(Item VIII, Subd. B) Each board member gave a brief report on committee meetings.
(Item VIII, Subd. C) Superintendent Sellner gave a brief report.
(Item IX) No work session needed at this time.
Items for regular board meeting
• First reading of policies
• Second reading of policies
• Leave/Resignations/retirements
• Employment Recommendation
• Recognitions
• Approve final revised budget for current fiscal year
• Approve Lane Changes
• Adopt Resolution authorizing LEA Representative
• Approve proposed placement of staff on Unrequested Leave of Absence
• First Reading of Policies
Tintes motioned to adjourn at 8:35pm; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
Respectfully Submitted,
Charles Weber, Clerk
Published in the Herald Journal April 18, 2011.

Return to HLWW Menu | Return to Government Minutes Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home