HLWW School District 2687 Board Minutes

Monday, November 14, 2011
High School Media Center
The November 14, 2011 Regular School Board meeting of the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted ISD #2687 was called to order at 6:01pm. by Chairman Schaible. After the pledge of allegiance, roll was taken with the following members present: Schaible, Heuer, Wiech, Tintes, Kocher, Weber, and Weibel. Also present were Principals Mike Day, Jim Schimelpfenig, and Jennifer Olson; Superintendent Brad Sellner, SMS Financial Consultant Bill Menozzi, and Board Secretary Marilyn Greeley.
(Item IV) Weber motioned to approve the agenda; Heuer seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item V) There were no questions or comments from visitors.
(Item VI) Wiech motioned to approve the consent agenda which included minutes from the October 10, 2011 regular board meeting, November bills, enrollment, family leave request for Tanya Remer starting approximately March 5, 2012 thru the end of the school year; and family leave request for Leah Jenzen starting approximately March 9, 2012 thru the end of the school year, hiring Kerri Lachermeier for the 2 hr. custodial position at Winsted Elementary; addition to winter coaching staff that was approved in October – George Montgomery as weight room supervisor/strength coach, the second reading on the following policies: 101 Legal Status of the School District, 101.1-Name of the School District, 103-Complaints-Students, Employees, parents, Other Persons, 104-School District Mission Statement, 205-Open/Closed Meetings, 206-Public Participation in School Board Meetings, 207-Public Hearings, 208-Development, Adopt, Implement of Policies, 212-School Board Member Development, and 306-Administrator Code of Ethics, communications-Elementary Laker News, MSBA Training, Resource Training & Solutions Communicator, and the following recognitions:
The School Board recognizes those who helped out with the second senior citizen Fine Arts Performance: Steve Gagnon, Dan Boeson, Mike Day, Laker Pride, Duane Lichy, Leon Zellmann, Michelle Johnson, Chris Starr and Charlie Roux who helped make the Community Concert a great success. Many people from our communities were able to come and enjoy the performance at the high school. Thank you to everyone who made this a wonderful experience for all those who were able to attend.
The School Board recognizes the teachers honored recently at the 20th annual Leadership in Educational Excellence (LEEA) banquet: Angela Pittman, Jessica Bogdan and Brooke Thrall. This annual event sponsored by Resource Training and Solutions, honors educators for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. We congratulate you on this accomplishment, and thank you for your commitment to students of this district.
The School Board recognizes Bob and Linda Christensen for donating a case of poster board and colored paper to the middle school. Thank you for your donation and continued support of the school district.
The School Board recognizes the HLWW FFA Food Science Team-Katie Hirsch, Ariel Kocher, Kyla Sarah Marketon and Kyla Mauk, for placing first at the National FFA Convention held October 19-22 in Indianapolis. Also placing 8th at the National Convention was the Agricultural Communication team-Rebecca Groos, Emily Mages, Chris Marketon, Jared Schmieg, and Rebecca Zander, Nursery and Landscape team-Raechell Bayerl, Ryan Gailey, Josh Laxen, and Jacob Scherping, and Sabrina Kieser for prepared public speaking. Justin Crowley, Crystal Jones and Trevor Christensen also earned their FFA American degrees. Congratulations to all of you on your accomplishments!
The School Board recognizes Mr. Weninger, FFA students, Craig and Joanie Kocher, Kathy Leukuma, April Debner, Shaun Rogers, custodians, parents, and students who helped with the move of gymnastics equipment and the assembly of the spring floor.
The School Board recognizes Linda Jaskowiak and St. Cloud Hyundai for donating $100. Thank you for your donation to the school district.
Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII; Subd. A) The FFA National Competitors who attended the National Convention introduced themselves; and gave a brief overview of their experience at the national convention.
(Item VII; Subd. B) Wiech motioned to approve the treasurer’s report; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII; Subd. C) Tintes motioned to adopt the resolution to canvass the fall school operating levy election; Heuer seconded; those in favor-Weibel, Weber, Kocher, Tintes, Wiech, Heuer, and Schaible; opposed-none; passed unanimously.
(Item VII; Subd. D) Wiech motioned to approve the Superintendent 2012-2015 contract; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII; Subd. E) Curriculum Director, Jim Schimelpfenig, gave a brief update on AYP; where the district is at in the planning stage and when improvement plans will be submitted to MDE.
(Item VII; Subd. F) Weber motioned to approve the seniority list; Heuer seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII; Subd. H) Breanne Adickes and Heidi Smith, School Social Workers, and Terri Collins High School Counselor gave a presentation about their positions.
(Item VII; Subd. G) Wiech motioned to approve Mike Day-High School Principal as an additional check signer for the Athletic Director account and Judi Salonek-Business Manager as an additional check signer for the Community Education checking account per audit recommendations; Heuer seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VIII; Subd. A) Principal Day gave a brief report.
Principal Olson gave a brief report.
Principal Schimelpfenig gave a brief report.
(Item VIII; Subd. B) Each board member gave a brief committee report.
(Item VIII; Subd. C) Superintendent Sellner gave a brief report.
(Item IX) Next Meeting Dates:
• Work Session Meeting – Monday November 28, 2011 6pm High School Media Center-no needed
• Regular Board Meeting – Monday December 12, 2011 6pm High School Media Center
(Item X) Items for regular board meeting
• Truth In Taxation Hearing
• Approve 2010-11 Audit
• Final levy limitation and certification of 2011 payable 2012
• First reading of policies
• Second Reading of Policies
• Leave/Resignations/retirements
• Employment Recommendation
• Recognitions
• Other
Wiech motioned to adjourn at 7:30 pm; Kocher seconded; passed unanimously.
Respectfully Submitted,
Charles Weber, Clerk
Published in the Herald Journal Dec. 12, 2011.

Return to HLWW Menu | Return to Government Minutes Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home