HLWW School District 2687 Board Minutes

Monday, April 9, 2012
High School Media Center
The April 9, 2012 Regular School Board meeting of the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted ISD#2687 was called to order at 6:02 pm. by Chairman Schaible. After the pledge of allegiance, roll was taken with the following members present: Schaible, Heuer, Wiech, Tintes, Weber, and Kocher; Weibel arrived at 6:15pm. Also present were Superintendent Brad Sellner, SMS Financial Consultant Bill Menozzi, and Board Secretary Marilyn Greeley.
(Item IV) Weber motioned to approve the agenda; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item V) There were no questions or comments from visitors.
(Item VI) Wiech motioned to approve the consent agenda which included the March 12, 2012 Regular Board Meeting minutes, April bills, enrollment, the resignation of Janet Perry as Letter Club/Concession Stand Advisor effective the end of the 2011-12 school year, the retirement of Fran Roux effective the end of the 2011-12 school year, the employment of Mary Alexander as part time food service assistant effective March 26, 2012; Christine Kalway as afternoon wheel chair bus driver; Vawn Krzmarick as .5 Early Childhood teacher/.5 SpEd teacher at Humphrey Elementary-1FTE total , the following lane changes: Jeff Goudy from BA15 to BA30, Heidi Joy-Bursch from BA30 to BA45, Kim Jones from BA45 to BA60, Jason Kuehn from MA to MA15, Brooke Thrall from BA30 to BA45, communications: Elementary News, Resource Training & Solutions Communicator, Resource Training Summer 2012 Catalog of workshops, and an updated board member contact list, and the following recognitions:
The School Board recognizes HLWW’s FFA Agricultural Communications Team, Katie Hirsch, Kyla Mauk, and Sarah Marketon. The team placed first at State competition which took place on March 15th at the University of MN-St. Paul campus. Congratulations Communications Team on winning first place at State.
The School Board recognizes Sherrin Houtman for the donation of classroom furniture. Thank you for your continued contributions to our school!
The School Board recognizes the Red Dot Garage Band for their early morning performance at Humphrey Elementary in celebration of I Love to Read month’s reading goals. Students read over 45,000 minutes to earn this reward concert. Congratulations to the students on exceeding their goals, and a “rockin’ thank you” to the band for sharing their talents with our student body!
The School Board recognizes the Friends of the HL Library for their continued support of HLWW Schools with the recent small group assemblies presented by “Pages of Music”. Thank you for your creativity to promote the arts and your willingness to provide opportunities for our students!
The School Board recognizes the following students who are the 2012 Class Valedictorians: Ava Broscoff, Jared Gailey, Jackson Houston, Katelyn Kamann, and Heather Lehner. Congratulations to everyone on this most prestigious honor. We wish you all the best as you meet your future goals, whatever they may be.
The School Board recognizes Addie Mucha who won a $250 gift card from Office Max. She was one of ten winners from a pool of 88 submissions to Resource Training, recognizing her contributions to the Middle School’s positive climate. Thank you Addie for all you do for students in our district.
Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. A) Wiech motioned to approve the treasurer’s report; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. B) Tintes motioned to approve the RFQ with KDV for auditing services for three years; Wiech seconded; Weber opposed; passed by majority.
(Item VII, Subd. C) Gary Schmidt, First Responder Instructor, gave a brief report on the First Responder class.
(Item VII, Subd. D) Tintes motioned to not make up the student snow day from February 29, 2012; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. E) Tintes motioned to approve the lawn care estimates for Yager Field with Jon’s Lawn Care, and Winsted Elementary with Leisure Time Mowing; Weibel seconded; Weber abstained; passed by majority.
(Item VII, Subd. F) Wiech motioned to approve Greg Vandal, as a consultant for a building project; Tintes seconded; those in favor: Weibel, Kocher, Heuer, Wiech, Tintes, and Schaible; opposed: Weber; passed by majority.
(Item VII, Subd. G) Weibel motioned to adopt the resolution authorizing Jennifer Olson as LEA Representative and Robin Day as Lead Teacher; Wiech seconded; all voted in favor; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. H) Weber motioned to approve lease space at the Middle School with MAWSECO for the STEP, TREK and Journeys programs; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. I) Schaible said we will table this item until next month.
(Item VIII, Subd. A) The Principal reports are enclosed.
(Item VIII, Subd. B) Each board member gave a brief committee update.
(Item VIII, Subd. C) Superintendent Sellner gave a brief report.
(Item IX) Next meeting dates:
• Work Session Meeting - Monday April 23, 2012 6pm HLWW HS Media Center-not needed at this time.
• Regular Board Meeting - Monday May 14, 2012 6pm HLWW HS Media Center
(Item X) Items for regular board meeting
• First reading of policies
• Leave/Resignations/Retirements
• Employment Recommendation
• Recognitions
• Parent Involvement Compact
• Approve Original Budget for 2012-2013
• Middle School Property Insurance Premium
Wiech motioned to adjourn at 6:50 pm; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
Respectfully Submitted,
Charles Weber, Clerk
Published in the Herald Journal June 11, 2012.

Return to HLWW Menu | Return to Government Minutes Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home