HLWW School District 2687 Board Minutes

Monday, June 11, 2012
High School Media Center
The June 11, 2012 Regular School Board meeting of the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted ISD#2687 was called to order at 6:04 pm. by Chairman Schaible. After the pledge of allegiance, roll was taken with the following members present: Schaible, Heuer, Wiech, Tintes, Kocher, and Weibel; Weber was absent. Also present were Superintendent Brad Sellner, Principals Mike Day, Jim Schimelpfenig, and Jennifer Olson, SMS Financial Advisor Jarrod Hofer, and Board Secretary Marilyn Greeley.
(Item IV) Schaible asked to add Item K-School Board sunshine funds. Heuer motioned to approve the agenda with the addition; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item V) There were no questions or comments from visitors.
(Item VI) Heuer motioned to approve the consent agenda which included the May 14, 2012 Regular Board Meeting minutes, June Bills, June Enrollment, family leave request from Abby Carlson starting approximately November 21, 2012 for 12 weeks, the resignation of Shawna Moe as a Special Ed teacher, effective June 8, 2012, the employment of Garrick Anderson as an evening custodian at the middle school (replacing Sam Bell) effective June 7, 2012; the following staff for the 2012-13 school year effective August 23, 2012: Tricia Johnson as .5FTE high school band (replacing Charlie Roux); Kristy Cardinal as a middle school Special Ed teacher (replacing Sandy Petterson); Stephen Boger as Humphrey Elementary Kindergarten teacher; Laura Heuer as Winsted Elementary Kindergarten teacher, the second reading on the policy 807-Health and Safety, Communications: Resource Training & Solutions Communicator and the Commissioner of Ed Reward School letter for Winsted Elementary, and the following Recognitions:
The School Board recognizes HLWW Wellness team for utilizing $1250 of employee wellness funds toward the purchase of local business gift certificates and community bucks in Waverly, Winsted, and Howard Lake. Thanks to the committee for keeping our program local and promoting health and wellness among our staff members.
The School Board recognizes Centra Sota Cooperative-Cokato for donating time, fertilizer and spray for the FFA Crop Plot. Centra Sota comes out once or twice to spray and fertilize. Thank you for your continued support of the district and the FFA Program
The School Board recognizes Irene Woitalla and the numerous volunteers involved with the Joe Woitalla Memorial Fishing Expo in hosting our 4th grade students to a day of learning about the aspects of fishing—fish identification, appropriate technique and use of fishing equipment, water safety, and of course the most fun for the students, application and practice…catching a few big ones and lots of little ones! Thank you for your energy and willingness to make connections with students.
The School Board recognizes Marissa Fiecke who qualified in the 400 meter, and will be competing at the State Track meet. Congratulations Marissa and best of luck at State.
The School Board recognizes the following 4th grade students: CJ Decker, Cody Dickhausen, Emily Dressel, Grace Gagnon, Bethany Groos, Joseph Schanus, Emma Fury, Abby Johnson, Blake Mathisen, Quinn Mathisen, Marlene Gutierrez, Anthony Lueck, Gracie Mallak, Charlie Mielke, Mikayla Scherping, Alexa Schumann, Jacob Fiecke, Gabi Kutz, Duncan Morang, Abby Carpenter, Amber Lamphere, Lily Karg, Logan Flores, Carmen Grangroth, Stephanie Nowak, Mallory Hass, Macenzie Ramola, Willow Determan, and Alexis Thomas for receiving Presidential Awards recognizing their high academic achievements. Congratulations to everyone on your achievements.
The School Board recognizes the teachers, staff and students for a wonderful and successful school year.
The School Board recognizes Josh Westling for another successful set of field days at the elementary buildings. Despite the challenge of weather, Mr. Westling carefully crafted events to avoid the puddles and ponds and make it fun for students and the 100+ parents/visitors that attended. Thank you for your hard work and dedication to our students.
The School Board recognizes Winsted Elementary for being recognized as a Reward School. Congratulations to the staff and Principal Olson.
The School Board recognizes the kindergarten teachers and the elementary music staff for an outstanding spring sing music performance themed “School is Cool.” The full house of families certainly enjoyed the program!
Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. A) Wiech motioned to approve the treasurer’s report; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. B) Hofer further viewed some minor changes to the preliminary 2012-13 budget. The board continued the discussion regarding increasing athletic fees and passes.
Wiech and Weibel requested information on season passes versus a yearly pass. Tintes said the committee needed to review information and will bring a proposal to the next board meeting. Schaible reported the season pass information will be on next month agenda to discuss.
Heuer motioned to approve the preliminary 2012-13 budget; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. C) Item was discussed with the above item.
(Item VII, Subd. D) Tintes motioned to approve the Air-On Contract for two years; Weibel seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. E) Wiech motioned to approve RAM Mutual as the School Districts Workers Compensation carrier; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. F) Wiech motioned to adopt the Resolution Establishing Dates for Filing Affidavits of Candidacy; Tintes seconded; those in favor: Weibel, Kocher, Tintes, Wiech, Heuer, and Schaible; Weber absent; none opposed; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. G) Tintes motioned to approve the Health and Safety Budget and policy; Wiech seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. H) Weibel motioned to approve the request for quotations for fuel, snow plowing and commodities (milk and bread), etc.; Kocher seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. I) Heuer motioned to approve the Curriculum report; Tintes seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VII, Subd. J) The Policy Committee recommends the first reading of policy 611-Home Schooling.
(Item VII, Subd. K) Weibel motioned to approve a deduction from school board time sheets to be used for the sunshine funds; Kocher seconded; passed unanimously.
(Item VIII, Subd. A) Principal Olson gave a brief report.
Principal Schimelpfenig gave a brief report.
Principal Day gave a brief report.
(Item VIII, Subd. B) Each board member gave a brief committee update.
(Item VIII, Subd. C) Superintendent Sellner gave a brief report.
Schaible welcomed newspaper reporter Jennifer Kotila, and thanked the teachers and principals for all your hard work and dedication. Schaible also thanked Principal Mike Day for all his years of services and for the great job he has done.
(Item IX) Next Meeting Dates:
• Work Session Meeting – Monday June 25, 2012 6 pm HLWW HS Media Center, not needed at this time.
• Regular Board Meeting – Monday July 9, 2012 6pm HLWW HS Media Center, possible date change for July board meeting, to July 16th.
(Item X) Items for regular board meeting
• Leave/Resignations/retirements
• Employment Recommendation
• Recognitions
• Approve quotes/estimates for fuel, snow plowing, and commodities (milk and bread)
• Truth in Taxation hearing dates
• Sports Season pass
Weibel motioned to adjourn at 7:15 pm; Kocher seconded; passed unanimously.
Respectfully Submitted,
Charles Weber, Clerk
Published in the Herald Journal Aug. 27, 2012.

Return to HLWW Menu | Return to Government Minutes Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home