Lester Prairie City Council Minutes





Monday, November 21, 2005

A regular meeting of the Board of Education of District #424, Lester Prairie, McLeod County, Minnesota was held on Monday, November 21, 2005 in the Media Center.

Board members present were Chairman Fred Blaser, Vice-Chairman Chester Hoernemann, Treasurer Robert Carlson, Clerk Jeff Hecksel and Director Melissa Williams. Nancy Krull was not present. Administration present included Superintendent Joe Miller, K-12 Principal Pam Lukens and Secondary Principal/AD Ron Erpenbach. Kyle Meyers (Abdo, Eick & Meyers, LLP) and Charles Speiker (MN Dept. of Education) were present. Members of the public present included Kim DeBruyckere and Jim Jorgenson.

Chairman Fred Blaser called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Vice-Chairman Hoernemann led The Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion was made by Carlson and seconded by Hecksel to approve the consent agenda, approve the minutes of the regular meeting on October 17, 2005, and to pay 2005-2006 bills in the amount of $83,122.35. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Kyle Meyers of Abdo, Eick and Meyers LLP gave the Board the school’s audit report. His report concluded that the school is in Statutory Operating Debt. A motion was made by Hoernemann, seconded by Williams to approve the audit as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Charles Speiker from the MN Dept. of Education told the board about Statutory Operating Debt and told the Board it needs to have a plan on how to get out of Statutory Operating Debt. The plan must be submitted to the MN Dept. of Education and approved by January 31, 2006.

The Board took a five-minute break, from 8:15 – 8:20 p.m. The meeting was resumed at 8:20 p.m.

The Board received no new communications.

During the Good News section, congratulations were given to Bob Henning and cast and crew of the fall play for excellent performances. It was noted that DARE Graduation will be January 24, at 7:00 p.m.

No one spoke during the open dialogue portion of the meeting.

Administrative reports were given. (Please refer to their notes given at the meeting on file in the District Office.) A Board Retreat will be held on Dec. 7, 2005 at 6:30 p.m.

A motion was made by Carlson, seconded by Hecksel to approve Non-resident Agreements. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Hecksel, seconded by Hoernemann to approve personnel contracts. Motion carried 5-0.

Nothing new on the School Board reports.

Motion by Hoernemann, seconded by Hecksel to approve going into a closed meeting after the regular meeting. Motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Williams, seconded by Hoernemann to accept the resignation of Robert Carlson from the remainder of his four-year term.

A motion was made by Hoernemann and seconded by Blaser to approve the Resolution Filling School Board Vacancy by appointment. A roll call vote was required and resulted in the following: Hecksel – yes, Blaser - yes, Hoernemann - yes, and Williams – yes. Motion carried 4-0. The Board appointed Jim Jorgenson to finish the unexpired four-year term of Robert Carlson.

The Certification of Election was signed. The Acceptance of Office was given to Fred Blaser, Chester Hoernemann, Robert Carlson and Jim Jorgenson.

The regular meeting went into recess at 9:13 p.m. and went into a closed session at that time. The Board came out of the closed session at 9:48 p.m. and the regular meeting resumed at this time.

The meeting adjourned at 9:49 p.m.

Jeff Hecksel,

Clerk – District #424

Published in the Herald Journal Jan. 23, 2006.

Return to City of Lester Prairie Menu | Return to Government Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page