Lester Prairie School Board Minutes

Lester Prairie Public Schools
Monday, May 16th, 2016 6:30 p.m.
Lester Prairie School Media Center
Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Karla Heigl, Mary Otto, Steve Ziermann, Rawelin Radtke, Corbey Hentges and MerriLea Kyllo. Administration present: Jeremy Schmidt and Nathaniel Boyer. Guests: Ivan Raconteur of the Herald Journal.
Pledge of Allegiance was led by Steve Ziermann.
Motion by Hentges, seconded by Kyllo to approve the Consent Agenda as modified & to approve the minutes of regular meeting 04/18/16 & approval to pay bills in the amount of $213,384.57 & student activity fees of $522.87 were also included. Vote: 6 for, 0 against.
Recognition of Communications since Last Meeting:
A. Hentges reported awesome Choir concerts
B. Nice Prom.
C. Great Band trip.
D. Open dialogue – none
Administrative Reports
Mr. Boyer K-12 Report: - highlights
• Testing for the year is complete
• May 9th local law enforcement involved with school lock down which included a K-9 and officer
• School has been contacted by Youth for Understanding for hosting a foreign exchange student
• Summer School staff hired
• 38 Kindergarten students registered for 2016-2017
Mr. Schmidt Report: highlights
• Northern Collaborative meeting report
- Program review
• CTN meeting report April 29th
- MCCRAY High School agreed to do the fiscal reporting
School Board Reports
A. Spec. Ed – None
B. Community Ed. – None
C. LPPEA – Looking at different fundraisers
D. Facilities/Maint. –
a. Tentative cleaning schedule made up for summer
b. Hoist needs repair looking at options
c. New winches for baskets are needed
E. Tech/Media – Meeting May 27th
F. Activities Committee – Meeting in June
G. Negotiations:
a. Certified – None
b. Non-Certified – 2 meetings held 5/5, and 5/19
c. Administration – None
H. Meet & Confer – None
I. Policy – June meeting
Policy Administration
• District student count as of 4/14/2016 for K-12 is 406.
Old Business
• None
Personnel Issues
Motion made by Radtke and 2nd by Otto to approve the contracts for:
• Petra Nelson, Summer School Teacher
• Jan Smith, Summer School Teacher
• Jennifer Smith, Summer School Teacher
• Rachel Stender, Kid’s Depot Summer Student Worker
• Christy Maesse, Kid’s Depot Summer Staff
• Cheryl Bayerl, Kid’s Depot Summer Staff
• Jan Smith, Kid’s Depot Summer Staff
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
School Finances
• None
New Business
• Motion made by Kyllo 2nd by Ziermann to approve Superintendent Schmidt as the Identified Official with Authority (IOWA) on MDE site
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Heigl and 2nd by Hentges to approve membership in the Minnesota State High School League for 2016-2017
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Radtke and 2nd by Ziermann to solicit bids for: milk, bread, garbage, and propane
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Hentges and 2nd by Otto to approve Superintendent Jeremy Schmidt to teach a seven week course with St. Mary’s University.
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Heigl 2nd by Kyllo to approve the agreement with the City of Lester Prairie facility use
- 2 year agreement – 4% increase in fees for Concession stand, and facilities use
- Bleachers set up for use. If city has to move them they will charge $350
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Hentges and 2nd by Ziermann to approve agreement with Tri-Valley Head Start, Child and Family Programs.
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
• Motion made by Heigl and 2nd by Ziermann to approve MASA membership renewal for Mr. Schmidt
Vote: 6 for, 0 against
Meeting was adjourned at 7:06 P.M.
Steven D. Ziermann, Clerk ISD #424
Published in the Herald Journal June 27, 2016.

Back to LP School Minutes Menu | Back to Government Menu

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home