var sid = 454; var aid = 3;

Lester Prairie School Board Minutes

January 27, 2003

School District #424

Lester Prairie, MN 55354

A regular meeting of the Board of Education of District #424, Lester Prairie, McLeod County, MN was held on January 27, 2003 in the school media center. The meeting was called to order by chairperson Fred Blaser at 6:30 p.m. Members present were vice chairperson Chester Hoernemann, clerk Nancy Krull, treasurer Barry Kyllo and director Bob Remer. Director Bob Carlson was absent. Staff members present were Joe Miller, Dean of Students; Pam Lukens, Elementary Principal; and teacher Steve Herman. Guests present were Julie Yurek, Winsted-LP Journal, and community member Diane Prehn.

Motion made by Hoernemann, seconded by Remer to approve the consent agenda as modified, including bills for in the amount of $187,256.55. Motion carried.

Communications since the last board meeting included a denial from the city of the school's request for 10 extra days to clean the athletic fields following the final event of the season. There is also information on area negotiation seminars and a referendum workshop.

The Board also recognized receipt of letters regarding the joint use facility from community members.

In the Good News section of the meeting recognition was given to the Board for its Distinguished Leadership Award at the State MSBA conference.

Remer moved and Kyllo seconded a motion to set February's meeting for Thursday, Feb. 13 at 6:00 p.m. Motion carried.

The Board heard a final report on the non-certified agreement and signed the contract. Contracts were signed for various positions including updated contracts for non-certified personnel. A report was made on the facilities meetings. Comments were heard from community member, Diane Prehn.

There was discussion about the need for a frequently asked questions flyer and/or brochure to make community members aware of what has been discussed and decided to date and how those decisions were made. Nancy Krull and Dr. Redfield were to work on this project with input from all Board members.

Board reports were given with no action required.

Administrative reports were provided with no action required. Ms. Lukens reported that a speaker representing Harriet Tubman did an assembly for the elementary on MLK day. Rachel Kyllo won the spelling bee for the third straight year and will go on to regional competition. Alex Millerbernd won the local Geography Bee and will also go on to additional competition. Attendance was good at the DARE graduation program.

Kyllo moved and Hoernemann seconded a motion to approve the CAPP fundraiser. Motion carried.

Remer moved and Krull seconded a motion to approve two open enrollment agreements: one student into Lester Prairie and one student out of Lester Prairie. Motion carried.

The Board went into closed session at 8:05 for the superintendent's evaluation and other personnel discussions. The meeting reconvened at 9:42 and adjourned at 9:43.

Nancy Krull

Clerk, District 424

Return to Lester Prairie School Menu | Return to Government Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page