var sid = 454; var aid = 3;

Lester Prairie School Board Minutes

September 15, 2003

School District #424,

Lester Prairie, MN 55354

A regular meeting of the Board of Education of District #424, Lester Prairie, McLeod County, MN was held on September 15, 2003 in the school media center. The meeting was called to order by chairperson Fred Blaser at 6:37 p.m. Members present were vice chairperson Chester Hoernemann, treasurer Barry Kyllo, clerk Nancy Krull and directors Bob Carlson and Bob Remer. Staff members present were Dr. James Redfield, Superintendent; Joe Miller, Dean of Students; Pam Lukens, Elementary Principal. Representatives from PFM Group and Ryan Gueningsman, Winsted-LP Journal were also present.

Vice chairman Hoernemann led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion made by Remer, seconded by Hoernemann to approve the consent agenda as modified, the minutes from August 6 and August 18 and bills for in the amount of $138,080.13. Motion carried.

Under communication a thank you was read from the teachers association for the welcome back lunch.

In the Good News section Dr. Redfield reported that enrollment was about the same for the elementary and up in the high school from the study done a couple years ago.

Bob Winthrop and Jenny Wade From PFM Group addressed the board regarding the refinancing of the school bonds. The results of the refinance will save the district about $80,000 between now and 2012.

Kyllo moved and Remer seconded a resolution to authorize issuance for the payment of $1,015,000 general obligation refunding bonds, series 2003. Roll call vote: Blaser - yes, Carlson - yes, Remer - yes, Kyllo - yes, Krull- yes, Hoernemann - yes. Resolution carried 6-0.

Kyllo moved and Hoernemann seconded a motion to approve agreements for two students leaving the District and three students coming into the district. Motion carried.

Kyllo moved and Krull seconded a motion to certify the maximum amount for the proposed levy for 2004. Motion carried.

Hoernemann moved and Carlson seconded a motion for the board to sign an agreement with the Crow River Special Education Cooperative. Motion carried.

Kyllo moved and Krull seconded a motion to offer contracts under the current master agreement to the teaching staff as presented. Motion carried.

Kyllo moved Hoememann seconded a resolution to amend the August 6th resolution relating to the election of school board members by adding candidate names of Bob Remer, Melissa Williams, and Jeff Hecksel; and calling the school district general election including selection of judges as follows: Pat Lemke (head judge), Cathy Paulson, Margaret Kieser, Gordon Houk, Doris Kletcher and alternates DeVota Stoltnow and Elizabeth Bettcher. Roll call vote: Blaser - yes, Carlson - yes, Remeryes, Kyllo - yes, Krull- yes, Hoememann - yes. Resolution carried 6-0.

Board reports followed with no action required.

Elementary Principal Mrs. Lukens provided a written report and discussed the process being used in the elementary to ensure smaller groups for math and language despite the two larger single room classes. Conferences are scheduled.

Dr. Redfield provided a copy of some of the information being mailed by HLWW regarding their election questions. He also handed out information regarding the local operating referendum.

Mr. Miller gave a PowerPoint presentation that outlined the facts behind the operating referendum levy. Discussion ensued regarding scheduling presentations and informational meetings for the public. He also reported on testing, Homecoming coronation and activities for the week, bus safety and the need to send a letter to all 9-12 grade students regarding graduation requirements. Graduation has been set for May 29 at 1:00 p.m.

Agenda items for next month include the annual report on curriculum and 2nd Ave. North traffic flow.

The meeting adjourned at 8:48 p.m.

Nancy Krull, Clerk - District 424

Return to Lester Prairie School Menu | Return to Government Table of Contents

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page