Herald Journal

Serving the communities of Howard Lake, Lester Prairie, Winsted, Watertown, Mayer, New Germany, Waverly, MN and the surrounding area

DCL youth wrestlers participate at NYWA State Tournament

Front: Keevyn Anderson, Braxton Ornberg, Maximus Mauritz, Thor Picard, Ryatt Picard, Roman Kinsela, Gattlin Rynkievich. Middle: Dominic Franco, Ebon Peterson, Carmello Booker, Rex Hillmann Josiah Paul, Hayden Terning, Tyson Halverson, Gabriel Jasso, Jalen Gilb. Back: Tim Kinsela, Eric Peterson, Chris Meisch, Nolan Meisch, Holten Chatterton, Kent Limanen, Max Buschette, Gable Westby, Manny Jasso, Marcus Halverson, Max Buschette.

ROCHESTER – The DCL K-6 youth wrestling team competed in the NYWA state wrestling tournament on April 6 and 7 in Rochester.
This tournament draws some of the toughest competition in the state, as all 32 teams have to qualify in order to participate.
The team, led by Chris Meisch, Marcus Halverson, Joe Buschette, Tim Kinsela and Manny Jasso, finished the season with a 27-4 dual meet record and placed 11th at the tournament, going 3-2 at the event.
On day one, the team got things rolling right away, as the Charging Dragons defeated Perham 49-27.
Next up was Adrian, who finished 4th overall. The Charging Dragons wrestled well, but lost several close matches and lost 39-25.
Next, DCL defeated Grand Rapids 49-27, to finish out their day on Saturday.
The most exciting dual meet for DCL came on Sunday morning vs. Worthington. DCL lost 34-33 to Worthington in a dual meet that came down to heavyweight. Worthington ended up with a 9th-place finish.
Although it was a tough way to lose, the Charging Dragons rebounded to defeat Rocori, and left the state tournament with a winning record, and 11th place overall.
The coaches are extremely excited about the future of the program, and could not be more proud of this group of wrestlers. This is the second year in a row this age group has qualified for state.
DCL also had several K-6th wrestlers that also qualified and competed as individuals. The place winners were as follows:
Gabriel Jasso, State Champion
Gattlin Rynkievich, 2nd place
Max Buschette, 3rd place
Owen Wren, 3rd place
Joe Loch, 6th place